If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Lichen

Late posting due to scanning the computer for malware and it took an incredible 20 hours.

A busy day helping CC with stock taking. This left little time for nipping out during the hours of daylight. I did take some "safety net" shots through the window of a Wood Pigeon. However I am likely to have a lot of this type of shot in the time after my op. So I am trying to avoid them if I can get any thing else.

Earlier in the year (well late 2013 actually) we had a Malus (ornamental Crab Apple) blow down As it isn't causing any harm and is providing perches near the bird feeders we have left it. Having been there for over 30 years it had quite a bit of Lichen on it. So while CC was out in the evening I thought I would doa little experimenting.

CC is very good at studio style shots of flowers, so I thought I would try what I had seen her do. I also thought I would have another go at focus stacking. This is something I have tried before but it isn't easy on the Lumix. So you see the result which I am quite pleased with.

As a point of interest Lichen is a good indicator of how clean the air is. The bushier and more branched the species that are able to survive the cleaner the air. That means the air round us can't be too bad:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.