My Angle

By myangle

Fishing Rod

Having lost my favourite estuary rod overboard on the weekend, I struck while the iron was hot today and replaced it. Well, I shouldn't say replaced. The one I lost was irreplaceable. This new rod will do what I bought it for and I am sure it will as loved as the old rod in time though.

I am still really pissed that I have lost my old rod. What makes it worse is that at low tide it would be in around two foot of water. Actually it the right time of year the creek bed would be exposed by the tide. I doubt given the currents and the tidal flow that it would still be in the same place I lost it. It would have been better if I had lost it in 20 metres of water out in the middle of the bay. At least then there would be no way I would ever get it back. Someone might get lucky and find it.

Anyway, looking forward. I might have to go and do some fishing this weekend.

On a sad note, our last chicken, Pepper, went to the chook pen in the sky today. That was the last of four that Jo saved from being put down a few years ago. Pepper, Delta, Olive (aka Salt) and Martha are now together again, wherever it is that chickens go when the die. They were good chooks. We weren't short of eggs when they were in their prime and in their old age Jo prepared gourmet salads for them every day. I think they had a good life here. Now we just have to keep feeding the field mice up in the chook pen for a while so that they don't invade every household in the neighbourhood looking for an alternative source of food.

Now to walk the dog and go to bed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.