Not a dolls' house!

Though it looks as if it ought to be!

Sunnier again today but with wild winds that are gusting at about 30mph. As we ate lunch at the Atlantic (with views of the Atlantic) a glass and bottle at the next table were suddenly thrown to the ground and smashed.

What a wonderful way to spend my birthday: lounging by the hotel pool, in warmth and sunshine, even if we were listening to creaking branches and watching them beat against the pool's clear dome. Then a half hour walk to the restaurant with its fantastic views. The wide open Atlantic around Madeira looks so different from the English Channel at home. The main difference is the absence of yachts, fishing boats, motor boats, surfers, water-skiers or distant container ships. The horizon is bare sea-meets-sky, whose high streaks of vapour trails are the only indication of life beyond this isle. If we set sail, we'd meet no land until we hit America, some days' travel away over water. Amazingly isolated here!

This is my second birthday in Madeira; the second time I've opened my cards and had birthday lunch al fresco - I'm beginning to come to terms with a January birthday at last! :-)

Oh, and I've test driven swum my new cozzie and it works! What more could I ask for?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.