Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

Familienzuwachs

Addition to the family

I bid welcome to the newest member of my little gang of lenses: a brand new second-hand Tokina AF 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X Pro DX ultra wide angle lens.

During my time on blip I realized that I prefer to photograph buildings and landscapes over people (subject-wise). Portraiture isn't really my thing, as people tend to be unpredictable, unsymmetric and slightly unwilling to be photographed, whereas there are no such problems with more static subjects. So I thought a (ultra) wide angle lens would be a good investment.

I already took a few trial shots with the new lens and I must say I'm feeling positively confirmed in my purchase decision. The resulting photos were pin sharp to the edges, had great resolutions and only moderate distortion. The lens has a little problem with chromatic abberations, though, but nothing that can't be easily fixed during post-processing. Another upside is the maximum aperture of f/2.8 at all focal lengths.

I'm already looking forward to present to you a shot of an underground station, so you can pass your on verdict on the lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.