Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

100 Strangers #4: Marie-Claire

In Leeds today to meet up with a couple of mates for lunch. I thought Leeds city centre would be good hunting ground for extrovert portrait subjects but the first person I asked knocked me back so that put me off asking for a bit...

I stopped for a coffee at the station before my train home and got talking to this lovely lady. Marie-Claire is originally from France but relocated to West Yorkshire many years ago. We conversed in French a little but reverted to English when I got stuck. Her late husband was a keen photographer, and served in the air force doing photo-reconaissance! She even got to visit the Leica factory in Germany back in the day...

In processing this I was in two minds whether to crop close or leave in the dude in the background. I decided to leave him in as I noted while I was in the coffee shop, young people pass the time by playing with their phones while older people pass the time by being social and talking to strangers. I liked the juxtaposition...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.