Scottish Flyer

By ianjardine

The old bomber

Today was the first of two days in the flight simulator, something I have to attend every 6 months not only to maintain my proficiency but more importantly, keep my license. That way I can pay the bills.

Now the 'Sim' building is at Woodford Aerodrome which luckily for me is just around the corner. Formerly owned by Avro, many aircraft have been built there including the famous Lancaster aircraft during WW2 however, move forward to the 1960's and it was home to the Vulcan. Still standing on the airfield today is the last of the 'white' aircraft XM603 which was built in 1963 and flew many missions before being retired in the 1980s.

Sad to see it is in such a sorry state. The airfield is now closed completely following the demise of Bae and the Nimrod programme and the current owners (land developers) along with the Avro Heritage Group are discussing it's future. I do hope a solution is found as the airfield is transformed into yet another housing scheme and/or industrial site.

In my eyes, she's a beauty.

It's Friday again so I'll wish you all a lovely weekend. For me it's work, by 0630 I'll be back in 'the box' having to deal with all sorts of emergencies again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.