Windows in Time

By ColourWeaver

Road Kill

I was taking one of my favourite short cuts from Burley to the A35 via the old Brockenhurst to Ringwood rail track and also via two fords. The water cascading down the two little fords were in full flight. Never in all my years of using this little known road in the New Forest had O seen quite so much water!

I took the MPV through both fords at a steady speed. I stopped after the second one and got out to take a picture of the second ford in full flood, when I spied this little Grey Squirrel lying in the road. I'm not whether I had hit, but by the amount of blood on the road I say that it could have been the Range Rover that pasted me going in the opposite direction just moments before I drove down hill into the two fords.

Road Kill whether it is a Grey Squirrel, a deer, badger, fox or any other animal is always tragic to see. It reminded me of my first and only collision with a Red Deer complete with a full set of antlers. It darted out of the tree near the Borderwood/Rhinefields crossing on the A35 on a wet winters evening. I tried to miss the deer that had stopped by driving on the wrong side of the road , the stag decided to cross the road anyway and ran head down into my car. The net result was on dead deer stag and my car near side front wing and light housing all needing to be repaired. This event took place in 1981/82.

The Grey squirrel reminded me of this event. S I have immortalise it here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.