Journey Through Time

By Sue

Hazel (Didn't mean to scare you!!)

(I gotta say, I almost didn't do this. I had to fuss with this in Picasa before I was brave to post a closeup of my eye on the Internet. Egad! I am lucky I have eyes, lucky to have sight, lucky to be aging....and I swear to all that is holy that I am not that vain...but still. Egad! My mother had hazel eyes and my son has hazel eyes. I love that three generations have this in common.)


Hazel eyes are due to a combination of Rayleigh scattering and a moderate amount of melanin in the iris' anterior border layer. Hazel eyes often appear to shift in color from a brown to a green. Although hazel mostly consists of brown and green, the dominant color in the eye can either be brown/gold or green. This is how many people mistake hazel eyes to be amber and vice versa. This can sometimes produce a multicolored iris, i.e., an eye that is light brown/amber near the pupil and charcoal or dark green on the outer part of the iris (or vice versa) when observed in sunlight.
Definitions of the eye color hazel vary: it is sometimes considered to be synonymous with light brown or gold, as in the color of a hazelnut shell.

Hazel eyes are common throughout Caucasoid populations, in particular in regions where blue, green and brown eyed peoples are intermixed.


Back blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.