A SALUTE to BETTY FORD
One person can make a difference

On Friday, November 7, 1975,
Outspoken first lady, Betty Ford, told the world,
“I have breast cancer.”
Such courage in those four words.

At the time, Breast Cancer was the hidden disease.
Kept secret and whispered about in dark corners.

Betty Ford shoved cancer out into the bright light.
Empowering women to:
Visit their doctor and have that “lump” checked out.
Perform monthly self-breast exams, and
Schedule routine mammograms.

Betty became my instant heroine.
When I read her reasons for being so outspoken:

I believe we are all here to help each other and that our individual lives have patterns and purposes. My illness turned out to have a very special purpose -- helping save other lives, and I am grateful for what I was able to do.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.