Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Pegasus Bay from the Port Hills

With the Estuary in the foreground and the sweep of Pegasus Bay going around to the north, this view looks over the more eastern part of Christchurch. You'd be able to see the Southern Alps beyond the hazy foothills if only the Southerly had blown the haze away. It's worth going Large.

The metal road going down the hill is the emergency vehicle egress from the hill I live on. After the June 2011 earthquake, when the lower part of Clifton Hill was closed for a fortnight because of a bad slip which needed stabilising, we all had to drive up the hill via this road, through private land. It was a challenge for many vehicles and I was grateful for my 4WD, even though it's a fairly urban variety. I missed seeing this view after the road was re-opened, especially at night - it was magnificent! Maybe it'd be a good venue for a starry sky shot.

It was nice taking that 4WD for a drive round the eastern Port Hills today. I'm not quite up to a hike along the hills yet, but soon I hope :) It was great getting out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.