Life Today

By Aybike

Fairy Dust

Last night, with the residential students we went to see Peter Pan presented by The American Drama Group at Kenter Tiyatrosu. If you are in Istanbul, I highly advise you to see a play by this group. Last night's beauty was its simplicity. The actors and acteresses were kind enough to stay after the performance and spend some time with the kids. I have read and watched Peter Pan so many times before but last night I had an epiphany. Maybe Peter Pan's not about staying a kid forever. We all have a part of Wendy in us, a part of Peter Pan, and Captain Hook and Nana, and the lost boys, and the pirates. For a peaceful soul, it must be possible to merge them all and stay a kid at heart and get wiser at the same time. These two forms of being may be complementary rather than contradictory. Unravelling this secret in our journey must be a tough milestone. And maybe this is what the fairy dust is about. I found myself opening my eyes to a new day this morning with these thoughts in mind and a backache.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.