Looking South

By 13south

My friend Jacques

As portraits go this wouldn't win any competitions, but it's important to me because it's the first time he's allowed me to take his photograph.

I first met Jacques about ten years ago when he and his ancient bicycle took up residence in the disused garage next to my charity shop. I saw him through that period of his life and through a psychiatric hospital placement. He's now settled in a little hostel and we still see each other regularly. The relationship works because we genuinely like each other.

Today was his birthday. He's still got a pink Christmas tree up, because he likes it. There's a lot of clutter in the background because he loves picking up bits and pieces in charity shops and making up stories about where they came from. Happy Birthday Jacques!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.