Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Fairy Pillow

My sewing class ended last week and I didn't quite finish my second project, a decorative pillowcase with applique and zipper. Thanks to the loan of my mom's sewing machine, though, I finished it today! Don't look too closely; it's definitely made by a novice. My directional fabric doesn't line up properly and I had to re-sew a torn seam that now looks kind of strange, but I was excited to complete it anyhow, and especially to try my hand at the zipper. It's functional, and its fairy design made A happy. Since I made the first project a fire truck pillowcase for E, A has been eagerly awaiting her promised fairy pillow. She inflated my ego a bit by announcing, "Mom, this looks like it was made by a real professional!" Next up: I'm going to attempt an apron for myself!

Aside from the pillow, though, I also made the junior author in our household happy by sewing together some folded pieces of paper to make blank books. She has been happily composing and illustrating in her "real sewn books" all afternoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.