Always the Sea

By SoLisa

Maud's Emporium

I was going to drive over to Bexhill today and rummage round the second hand shops but someone smacked up the truck yesterday so I walked instead. Six miles along the coast, two and a quarter hours - I need to speed it up a bit.

This is Maud's Emporium, a really good vintage shop with lots of carefully chosen clothes and lots and lots of fur coasts, fake and real. You really don't see proper fur coats in the UK anymore, a good thing, but I have mixed feelings about vintage fur, although I could never wear it myself. Some of the fakes were lovely and I'd definitely wear one if I could but I can't because I'm short and look like an Ewok in them.

I did buy myself a 1960s floral sundress on the off-chance it stops raining later on in the year. I also bought a well-deserved slab of sultana cake and a sultana and walnut loaf in Bexhill Farm Kitchen. I've eaten the cake and am about to start on the loaf. I'll need another long walk tomorrow to burn it all off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.