A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Photo op

A nice day spent at the Scottish National Poultry show in Lanark, looking at chickens, ducks, geese and turkeys and avoiding the news.

I am coming round to the idea of ducks. Call ducks are very cute, eat slugs and apparently don't do much damage in the garden - within reason. You wouldn't put them in with your seedlings for example. My but they are noisy! I have heard you can just keep a couple of drakes together though - only ducks quack. I will enquire about that and see if anyone actually keeps drakes as pets useful gardening devices.

The chicken breed I am interested in - The Scots Grey - looked lovely. Everything I have read about them sounds good so it was pleasing that when I saw them in the feather, I really liked how they looked too. I've seen photographs of course but they only give an idea. Proper chickens. No silly business with frills or headdresses. Large but not stupidly large. They have grey and black barred feathers but I didn't get any good photos as it was rather difficult to get photos of dark coloured chickens in cages indoors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.