Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Tortilla Dance - Huembes Market

Down the aisle past the butchers, the herbalists and the piles of fresh fruit, I saw this line of tortilla makers wildly slapping masa dough into perfectly round tortillas. Their hands flew up and down, round and round, so fast that it was a blur. What struck me is how happy each one of them appeared to be. They were joking with one another and almost seemed to share a certain rhythmic, almost hypnotic dance with their hands as they hit the masa again and again. One tortilla seemed to take only seconds to create. They looked at me and chuckled, wondering why, I'm sure, anyone would want to take their photograph. My response - how could anyone not take their photograph? Their artwork and energy had me spellbound for that moment we shared today in Managua.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.