Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

No TV Tonight.

Not that I was planning to watch any -- the only things I watch are the PBS Masterpiece Classic series like Downton Abbey.

The large bookcase lying on its side in the basement TV room was in our bedroom until we had it moved into the garage while the new floor was installed -- over a year ago. The person responsible for decisions regarding furniture decreed that it was too large for the bedroom -- "it loomed" -- and it was banished forever.

The TV room was eventually declared an acceptable relocation site for the bookcase. Apparently looming is not an issue there -- in spite of the lower ceiling. I decided that today would be the day for moving it.

The bookcase is admittedly quite massive -- and very heavy. It's made of one-inch (25mm) particle board and measures 88"/224cm H, 36"/91cm W, and 12.5"/32cm D. Obviously I wouldn't be able to move it myself, and I wasn't sure that I could manage it even with a helper. I was impatient, and decided to dismantle it and move it in pieces.

First, I had to move all the stuff that had mysteriously migrated to the side of the TV room where the bookcase was to be located. That took quite a while.

It wasn't too difficult taking the bookcase apart, but putting it back together was a challenge. Some minor damage was incurred, bad words were uttered loudly, and superglue and epoxy were resorted to. By dinnertime I'd decided I would have to ask my neighbor for help on Sunday, but after dinner I thought of a different approach, and was able to complete the assembly myself.

The next time that bookcase goes anywhere, somebody else will be moving it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.