MadameRosbif

By MadameRosbif

Day 17 / 365 (grr, photo got taken at 12.01am so

Just before Christmas my daughter, Sarah and her boyfriend, Scott, moved into an apartment in a big Victorian house. The front room has a *HUGE* bay window and no curtains. As mums do, I offered to make some for them. That was my first mistake.

So about four weeks ago, I cut up the fabric, hemmed it all (as it frayed like crazy), and dyed the panels olive green. I was very impressed with the Dylon Olive dye and may now have to recreate scenes from my late 60's / early 70's upbringing by dying everything I can put my hands on. (Watch out, Gavin, I remember having lots of lilac underwear from one of my mum's dying sprees).
Yesterday, I spent approximately 9 hours making up the double sided curtains, ably assisted by Sarah (and briefly by Scott and her dad, Gavin).
Gavin put up the curtain poles and these 11 foot long monsters finally went up! They still need hemming but at midnight, we called it a day (although 'night' would be more fitting.
They look really great though and totally transform the room. All in all a good day's work.
I would like to say, however, I am NOT taking orders for 11 foot long curtains. Sarah. Or anyone else. Ever.
The best bit is that they are actually made from 9' x 12' cotton dust sheets which cost £7 each. So, including the dye, they cost just £33. Not bad for curtains that are 11 foot long. I have to say though, it's a good job I didn't charge for labour to make these double sided giants or the cost would have been significantly greater!
Enjoy, Sarah and Scott x (and yes, I know you have an identical bay window in your bedroom!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.