A Trip to the Funfair

Another of my old family photos. This is me, aged about 5 or 6 with my Mum and two brothers on a trip to the funfair at Victoria Park in east London. I do actually remember this photo being taken. My Mum was eating a bag of chips (fries) at the time. My eldest brother (11) had just started Secondary school so he now got to wear long trousers, my other brother (9) was still in short trousers (even in winter, brrr!). My Mum always tied a ribbon in my hair, which I hated - I think she wanted a girlie girl and I was much more of a tomboy. I loved the coat I'm wearing so much - it was powder blue in colour with a maroon coloured velvet collar. I think you can see the way I'm standing that I was proud to show it off to the camera. I don't remember much about the fair other than going on the swing boats, helter skelter (my favourite) and the 'Hook a Duck' stall where you won a prize every time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.