Purana Qila (The Old fort)

For today's day out, SM joined us. We headed off towards Purana Qila (Old fort) before taking a look at S's school. It was serene and filled with greenery. The fort too was great. Beautifully manicured lawns, rows of lined trees, a lot of people picnicking... Enjoyed the remnants of the mosque, the destroyed walls and other buildings a lot, especially while trying to imagine how life would have been when the fort was in its prime. There was a large green patch covered with trees, sunlight streaking through the gaps, Autumn leaves floating through the air, birds and squirrels playing their games... I could have been there the whole day. Just lying down on the grass...The sun however got to the others and so we had to leave.

The lunch at The All American Diner was just fabulous! The retro caravan style decor, the bits of beautiful sunlight that streaming through the windows, the delicious food, the casual but stylish ambiance and the great music made for a meal I am not going to forget. Did I forget to mention good company? I'm sure that is implied somewhere in there. The atmosphere was inviting and we lingered on for far longer than one would at regular restaurants.

The photography exhibition that followed was good and made S encourage me to try one of my own sometime. But that will have to wait, I think. I mean, large prints neatly framed look great anyway. Especially with good music. After a leisurely stroll, we headed off for coffee at the trendy M block market littered with wannabes (not too unlike most of South Delhi) and after a few rounds headed back when SM left. We all had a good day together and it makes me a little sad to think that it might take some time before this happens again.

The evening we had dinner at a famous kebab place where the food is cooked right before your eyes on outdoor grills and ovens and is served to the customers right inside their cars. There are always a host of cars parked all around (including the "BMW and S-Class wales" as someone pointed out) enjoying the service and the good food. (Now as I write, it makes me marvel at the amount of heavy food I had in the last four days!)

We had almost made plans for midnight ice-cream at the India Gate which sadly got shelved. Though I didn't have my camera with me, I would have loved to go. Will surely do when we make it another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.