Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Keeping half an eye open

There were only five at the church service today. There was snow up the valley and it was a miserable morning and many come a long way. Still when two or three are gathered together... We were glad of coffee in the bar afterwards and we whiled away an hour mulling over the village gossip, the closure of the paper shop, the empire building plans of Jean Louis the bar owner and entrepreneur, his possible candidacy for Mayor and such matters as fuel the conversation of rural villages. I have spent too much time today hunting for the missing lens in my spectacles. I have searched pockets for reserve pairs but find most of my reading glasses are lacking arms or nose rests. I should take more care of them. It might mean a trip to the supermarket tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.