Double sun

I have been wanting to take this photo or a photo a bit like this for a while. To me at least one of the pleasures of landscape photography is the planning and the waiting. I knew that one day we would be walking along here and the sun would be just right. Unlike in a studio things in the landscape cannot be forced to my whim. I can't change the position of the sun or bend the reed that annoys me because it is actually in the lake, I find that good.

Don't get me wrong this is not about a "straight out of the camera" ethos which personally I find bizarre or not playing with filters or changing the image in other ways which I do constantly but about the scene and the way it is in front of you.

If I am honest, sometimes it isn't even about the photo itself, I think I may of taken better or at least more "showy" ones today but the pleasure of getting what you wanted aces it and the more exotic ones aren't so dependent on conditions. Sometimes it is about the little things and what I like about this image is actually very simple, that little flash of orange leaves on the right hand side.

2014 #3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.