Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

City long shadows

Up to London today for a photo trade show, and very interesting it was too.
As farmingemma and I left the venue, we were taken by the light and shadows cast by the winter afternoon sunshine. A uniquely urban beauty, the landscape of the city, I love it, the bustle, the constant cast of characters, the soundtrack. But if I was honest, I probably only enjoy periods of city life, like the smell of fresh road tarmac, it's pleasant for only a while.
Who knows, I've never fully lived in a city, only in the London suburbs, Tubing in and out of town...
This photo reminded me of a photo by New York street photographer Joel Meyerowitz, of the couple in yellow coats, but I have spots of red in the frame.
Farmingemma has blipped her version of the same street corner view. I haven't seen it, or read her words yet. Compare and contrast....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.