horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

We want... A rookery!

Eeh, back to work, marveloso....

Actually, despite being off ill yesterday there's been a fair amount going on, what with applying for media jobs (well, job) with a spec that could almost have been written with me in mind (save for a preference for journalistic experience) and being put onto the guest list for a reception at the French Institute in order to have a chat with a TV production company director about a couple of ideas I have kicking about.

All early days, so early in fact as to be almost worthless mentioning them, but this new 'being pushy and really making a go of what I want to do' is starting to create tiny little openings that I'm going to try and squeeze through.

Which reminds me, I must get back in touch with the BBC Breakfast editor to make sure the invite to head down to Lahndahn Tahn to see them filming the show doesn't go cold.

t-2 days till the odious Nick Griffin appears on Question Time. I'm not actually one of those shouting at the BBC for allowing this to happen. Not because I'm some sort of closet BNP fanatic, I think I'd rather eat out my own intestines with a single blunt chopstick, no, I actually think it's good to see them in public showing themselves up to be the utter morons that they are in the hope that it inspires more people to vote against them.

There were two cretins of the highest order interviewed on the BBC website about their support of, membership of, and belief in, the BNP andit really would have been hilarious but for the fact that they actually believed what they were talking about. They had no problem with Ashley Cole playing for England if he thought he was English, as long as he realised that he wasn't ethnically English, and agreed to abide by our rules. Our rules? This being Ashley Cole, born and bred in the UK? Apparently to qualify as English or British you had to be able to point to a heritage in this country stretching back 40,000 (yes, forty thousand) years.

It really was as misguided as Griffin using a Spitfire image as his backdrop at the last European elections then finding out the markings were of a Polish RAF unit. At which point he tried to pass it off as intentional to show that the BNP welcomed those who had helped and accepted England.

So Nick Griffin, I can't wait to see him on Question Time, and I really do hope that the audience doesn't give in to angry vitriol, and instead asks him genuine, simple questions that you just know he's going to have a hell of a time trying to answer. The sad little individuals sitting at home nodding along to his spurious claims are welcome to their lonely xenophobic existence, and unless any one of them can show me their lineage has been here for 40,000 years then they can sod off back to their own country. Which given the history of the UK, with invasions aplenty 'polluting' the British psyche, could be Scandinavia, Italy, France, Iceland, Ireland.

I'll never understand racism, beyond a simple 'That's different, so I won't like it'.

EDIT:

p.s. I should add, if anyone reading this is a member of the BNP and is offended by anything I've said.


Good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.