CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

A scented garden

Odd I would make this choice in the garden as I don't care to use fragrances inside the house. Oh, if I have flowers like the lily-of-the-valley, cut and inside, they smell heavenly and I don't mind a bit. But I don't purchase cans of scented air. I have really never seen the point. Potpourri just seems to get scattered. I rarely wear perfume as most of my career I have not worn it to work and I only rarely wear it out to play. But now I will have fragrance around my front door most of te year. To the far left is my Daphne. Much larger than she seems here. She is nearly a meter across and almost that tall. that is after a healthy trim last year. On the other side of the front doors is the honeysuckle that is still recovering from the slashing I gave its rampage. It was nearly across the front of a two car garage and beginning to pull the moulding off the front of the house. and now, in front of the stairs is the sarcococca in a part of the yard that is shady most of the day in summer. She sat 12 feet from me as I was digging her new home and adding some much needed mulch and let me know that she was ready to do her job of greeting my visitors. Next to her is my azalea, George, who will have blooms the color of peach flesh and remind me of the lovely person who gave him to me. Not many leaves until after he blooms in mid-May. It looked like he could use some company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.