Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Sure, Let's Talk About Football

Anyone who knows me knows full well that I'm about the last person you would go to for a lively conversation about football, baseball, basketball, soccer, tennis, ping pong, shuffleboard, you name it.

But here's the thing: I enjoy all these games.

I've played a bit of each, except football, and over the years, I've come to enjoy watching a game or two, particularly when any of our Washington teams are involved. Both my boys are avid sports enthusiasts, and Richard is a hard core baseball geek, despite the Mariners being our local team. I've learned a lot about baseball and football from these guys, and this in turn has helped me appreciate what I'm watching all the more. So, in light of our recent good fortune on the football field, it should come as little surprise that I've been following our Seattle Seahawks right up to today's NFC Championship game against the San Francisco 49ers.

We won today. And after enduring a baseball season with the Mariners, I can say this: it feels good to win. The Seahawks will be headed to my home state of New Jersey in a few weeks to confront the Denver Broncos at the new Met Life Stadium in the Meadowlands (admittedly, I initially thought the Super Bowl would be held in the old Giants Stadium, also in the Meadowlands, where Jimmy Hoffa was purportedly laid to rest beneath the goal post).

Pictured here is the game winning interception by Malcolm Smith, after Richard Sherman tipped the ball.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.