Orchardhill Parish Church II

I blipped this church on 10th January but I was unhappy with the picture and only used the photo as it was all I had that day. Therefore I was determined to get a better picture of what is a beautiful building.

It was a very nice morning, with blue skies so when it came to lunchtime I walked to Orchardhill Parish church with the camera in the hope of getting today's blip.

The square tower of the building was added in 1936 along with the frontage that faces onto Church road (left side as you look at the picture) and in my opinion it is these additions that make it such an attractive building. The original church (built 1900) is the bit with the steep roof attached to the right hand side of the tower.

Although I have gone for a mono version of this picture it was a close run thing whether I would blip the B&W or the colour one. The coloured photo really showed up the blonde sandstone and the blue sky, but in the end I preferred the way the clouds came out in the mono.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.