If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

A tree at the Lodge.

We received notice today that tomorrow is our Visit England inspection. This happens each year and so far we have maintained our four star rating, and are hoping as nothing has changed there will be no reason to change the rating. It did however seem sensible to pop out, turn the heating on for clickychick while she waits for the inspector and just generally ensure no dust has settled etc.

The result was one of those days when you are spoiled for choice when you look at your shots. The first was the blue and yellow helicopter circling over the M6 - police? Not sure but I did get a reasonable shot of it. Then I took a few shots of the game I have already mentioned. The as we came out of the lodge the light was good and a tree caught my eye so I took a few shots of that. Then as the weather was good and we weren't in a hurry CC suggested we have a trip down the "back of the lake".

So we stopped for a blipping session. Before I started on the lake I took a few of the kayak carefully placed in a tree. Then I moved on to lake shots, the water was so high that it rather limited the views through the trees on the shore. I also managed to get a shot of a blipper and tripod nearly up to her wellie tops in the lake.

You will see I have opted for the tree. The helicopter wasn't the best of shots, the kayak was only novelty value and lake shots are more likely in future. The light on the tree required the right time of day at the right time of year. Also it needed sunshine. Sunshine in the Lake District, in winter I can hear you saying, now you know why I chose it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.