RossCleary97

By RossCleary97

The Perfect Day

I had this composition in mind for a number of months. While travelling on a weekly commute I spotted a vast vibrant Canola field in the distance from my normal route. I made a mental note of the approximate location and returned a few days after with my girlfriend (who is incredibly patient when we go on all of my photography journeys) and my new camera. We took a number of different coloured umbrellas as props. It was an immensely beautiful summers day. Having tried a variety of compositions and combinations of umbrellas I was most pleased with this composition. This photo appeals to me because of the vibrant colours, contrast between the canola flowers and the umbrella and the shallow band of depth of field. I chose to have the background third in focus to help guide the viewers focus to the focal point of the picture, the vibrant blue umbrella. This picture was my first ever photo lab print. It greets me as I come through the front door after work and after months of studying it I still stop and stare at its simplistic beauty. It always makes me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.