SilverImages

By SilverImages

Still Life

Todays offering is a small display from a Quaker Meeting [the Religious Society of Friends] this morning. It was a collection of offerings from Nature - Teasel, Winter Jasmine and Fennel Seeds amongst other things.

A shaft of light coming in through the nearby window caught the brilliant yellow of the Jasmine and just demanded attention. I'm slowly getting into the habit of taking my camera with me [nearly] everywhere, so the obvious action for me was to photograph it. When I'd finished taking photos from every possible angle I was told that the fennel seeds are surprisingly full of flavour, like aniseed. I was offered one and, ever the intrepid explorer, tried it [not without some reluctance I might add]. When I bit into it there was a mini-explosion of flavour on my tongue, really was amazingly potent sensation from something so small and ineffectual looking. My lesson for today is not to judge by appearances.

I have taken several other photos today, some technically far better than this and visually more striking. But the fennel seeds reminded me of something I experienced long ago about the incredible ability of taste and smell in stimulating powerful memories; and also the renewing power of Nature after the dormant winter period when even the apparently dead seed heads can taste so spicy; so it's my photo for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.