Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

U-Bahn München: 26/100 Giselastraße

Munich underground: 26/100 Giselastraße

The previous station I've shown you - Giesing - was really ugly and today's station isn't exactly a beauty either, but the improvement is huge. This is Giselastraße underground station. It is located right underneath Leopoldstraße, one of Munich's royal boulevards. It was opened as one of the first stations in 1971 and shares many stilistic features with its neighbouring stations. Dietlindenstraße underground station for example could be a (differently coloured) twin. The only distinguishing feature here are the bright red pillars. Giselastraße is also one of the stations, where you are treated with classical music 24/7.

This blip is the first trial of my wide angle lens in an underground station. The result is not too bad, although I have to get used to my new toy first.

The bright spots on the left side of the picture and one very outstanding, approx. 4 pixel wide white spot in the lower left corner (which I fixed in processing) are far more disturbing, though. After closer investigation of my camera using different lenses and no lens (all with the same result) I realised that the mirror of my camera (and possibly the sensor, too) has some spots on it. Any idea how to clean that - or should I take it to a shop and let them clean it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.