M9

By M9

MAGNIFICENT OAK

This wonderful old oak tree has captured my imagination for ages - it must be well over 200 years old. The circumference of the trunk is at least 12 ft. around and the hole is a good 7 - 8 ft off the ground and about 20+ in. tall. Holding my camera high above my head, it’s still too high for me to look deep inside, but I can tell it’s been freshly chipped at - maybe by a woodpecker or a squirrel. It seems like it should be featured in a story about a haunted tree! I’m sure some little animal must live in the huge hole. Every time I see it, I hope to see something climbing out of it right then - of course, then I’d die if I didn’t have my camera ready!

I think this portion of the trunk is the most interesting, but I’ve put two different views of this old oak on Flickr so you get a better idea of the size. The tree is located in a vacant lot between an apartment building and a mini shopping mall in a prime location so the land is probably destined to be developed. It will be a sad day when they decide to cut down this magnificent tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.