pointed out

As the spare has only had to be employed in an emergency twice I've always been content to ignore the odd few niggles it exhibits, but with the impending need to aybe use it for a sold week of commuting whist I sort out properbike's back wheel problems once and for all I must now attend to a couple of bits. I always assumed the upright-curvy normal handebars were the originals, particularly given that their ageing and tarnish matched the rest of the frame, but the massive improvement in handling with a flat bar suggests that it might have been more designed for that sort of thing. The crank feels a bit short sometimes but I'll likely leave the drivetrain until a bit of it dies of the rear mech bends a bit too much. The back wheel is a little bit grindy but I need to fish out the bag of weird-sized bearings I had to order from the internet two years ago. I might try and find some thumbshifters to get rid of the twist-grips which take up too much handlebar, even when the bars are nearly two feet wide. The front rack did make it a bit wibbly at low speeds with the old bars but the new controllability means it can now stay, making the whole thing even handier for overloading with things, which hopefully (in conjunction with nice fattish tyres) will not result in any wheel-fuckups whilst I sort them out on the other one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.