RexComu1

By RexComu1

Cow Pet

As I was walkin doon the road,
Ah met a coo, a buhll by Goad!


Unfortunately not the words of William Topaz McGonagall but nevertheless quite appropriate in this case. I had some difficulty in climbing up to get this shot as one minute I'd be be at the top of the ladder only to slide back down again if I took the wrong step. It was nice of them to give the poor cow a roof over its head. There used to be a lot more of them around Edinburgh but they are a dying breed now.

Everybody loves cows don't they? Even Robert Louis Stevenson had a soft spot for them.

The friendly cow all red and white,
I love with all my heart:
She gives me cream with all her might,
To eat with apple-tart.

She wanders lowing here and there,
And yet she cannot stray,
All in the pleasant open air,
The pleasant light of day;

And blown by all the winds that pass
And wet with all the showers,
She walks among the meadow grass
And eats the meadow flowers.

Robert Louis Stevenson, The Cow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.