October Challenge 2015

By julianf1972

20/365 - Old School

I met Kieran in what was then called the 1st Year of Secondary school at The John Fisher School, Purley, Surrey, now known as Year 7. We really got to know each other during an orienteering outing at Skern Lodge during a week's outdoor activity week in that school year. We both went on the outdoors trip to Wales the following year, and when we were 13 we both went to our first ever concert with Elliott Gilmore to see Simple Minds at Wembley Arena. That was in 1985. I remember going round his house and playing U2's Bloody Sunday and New Year's Day as loud as possible. I remember playing tennis in Cheam Park in the summer holidays. I remember when he lamped another one of our friends in the school playground when it emerged the offender may have chatted up his girlfriend of the time. I remember the school ski trip we both went on. I remember when he won a Mazda MX5 in a magazine competition once we'd left school. I remember when he finally met the girl of his dreams. I remember when he asked me if I'd photograph his wedding. I remember him and his wife Jo conniving with Mrs F to surprise me with a weekend away for my 40th birthday. I remember when he told me and Mrs F that him and Jo were expecting their first child. I think it's safe to say he's my oldest non-primary school friend, and when he came for dinner tonight during a rare trip to Devon it would have been rude not to feature him for my shot of the day, and not to have gone down the pub and got pissed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.