Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Ponyo

Today was a busy Wednesday - school for the kiddos, work for the adults, and this afternoon, A's piano lesson followed by an oil change followed by the grocery store. By the time the kids and I got home a bit before 6:00, I was ready for a simple meal. Our dinner ended up being simple, all right, and it was a big hit with everyone. Inspired by the children's movie Ponyo, a Japanese cartoon we saw in the theater over the summer, I made a hot-pot style dinner. The kids helped me fill four bowls with ramen noodles, pour boiling water over top, and cover them. Then we added peas, tofu, and for the omniverous among us, shrimp. Served with sides of edamame and rolls, we all ate the meal with the new sets of chopsticks Ben and I picked up in San Francisco's Chinatown last weekend. (We supplemented with spoons, as there's really no way to eat peas out of broth with chopsticks. At least not at our level of expertise.)

This evening marked the first Wednesday night since my sewing class ended, and my friend Kristen, who took the class with me, came over so we could have our own continuation of the class in my basement. She finished her decorative pillow and I got started on my apron. I haven't actually done any sewing, per se, but I got the pattern cut, pinned, and then the fabric cut which was a big accomplishment! Ben and the kids had a fun night hanging out upstairs and watching The Incredibles - the new fam favorite - once again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.