Today's Special

By Connections

Sunrise and Seahawks

We had a beautiful sunrise today, one that felt like spring, not January! Much as I love this mild weather, there is an undercurrent of unease to it, as January is usually a cold, dark month here. I hope that February doesn't arrive with chill winds and low temperatures, wiping out the swelling buds of blueberries and other berries, an important crop in our county.

My alliterative title gave me the opportunity to bring Seahawks into today's entry, with only a passing reference to the Seattle-based major league football team that will be playing in the Super Bowl next month. I'm in the minority in this country, as I have zero interest in football, professional or otherwise.

However, I am interested in birds, and a recent BirdNote* show used the Seahawks mascot to inform its audience about real "seahawks." (Ironically, the captive-bred hawk that precedes the Seahawks onto the field during home games is an Augur Hawk, a species from arid East Africa, as I learned on BirdNote.)

Take a couple of minutes to enjoy the interesting information and outstanding photography on this BirdNote, including an amazing shot of an osprey -- a real sea hawk -- just about to plunge into the water for a fish! I've seen ospreys flying over our neighborhood and at Lake Padden, and am in awe of their power, speed, and precision.

*BirdNote is a two-minute radio show that combines rich sounds with engaging stories, to illustrate the amazing lives of birds and give listeners a momentary respite from the news of the day. (From the BirdNote website) The shows air on public radio stations around the United States; you can enjoy them anytime on the BirdNote website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.