Peteyo

By Peteyo

Design Process

Going through school, one of the first things they drilled into our heads that is also the easiest to forget: SKETCH SKETCH SKETCH SKETCH!

Even as an owner and designer of a clothing company, I still forget this daily. Us designers/artists get lazy, it's easy to do. It seems so much easier to just jump on the computer and start messing around. Which in fact, makes things harder in the long run. Sketching and doodling out 100+ ideas makes it easier to give yourself options, spot the flaws on certain designs easier, and forces creativity by thinking out of the box.

I haven't designed anything new that I really enjoyed in quite a few months, which is a horrible habit I'd like to stop. Yesterday I sat down at my computer in attempt to create something new that I was proud of. After 3 hours on the computer, I accomplished absolutely nothing! After stressing out, I gave up and called it a night.

This morning I had received a little light bulb reminder in my head of the full extent of the design process. I had skipped over many of the first few steps in order to design well.

This is one of the final drawings (after deciding against many others) that I've chosen to take to the next step. This has helped me map out an image that I'm excited to bring to the computer.

This idea isn't only for people who are graphic designers, this also relates to every human. Sketch out things before you encounter the final objective. Whether it's on paper or in your head. Spot the flaws before it's too late, or even just to save you time and hassle. I highly recommend "sketching out life", plan ahead, view all your options, force yourself to at least acknowledge other options.

On a side note, I have no idea what I'm going to do with this octopus after it's done, but I know that I will be much happier with it vs what would have came from hours of stress behind a computer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.