Jens

By jens

In the Beginning

After having an interesting discussion about my photography yesterday at a great potluck party, I felt quite puzzled today.

In the afternoon I went to a local food hall near the St. Mary's cathedral about which I heard from Bruce and Jame. In that hall, people can get a free meal every Sunday regardless of their background.

I was surprised by the large number of young homeless people that came there to eat, but also by the large number of dedicated volunteers, who served food and drinks.
Inside the food hall I met Robert, Jessy (22 years old), Tyrone (24 years old) and Jon (28 years old).

I talked to them about the reasons of homelessness in Calgary and wandered around with them for a while. All of them live on the street because they just can't afford the rents in this city. Tyrone and Jessy are even working as asbestos removers.

Robert was the youngest of them. He is 21 years old and homeless for 3 days.
Robert worked part time for a house moving company in Calgary. After he got fired he couldn't afford the rent of 1200 CAD per month and had to move out. Now he is moving around with his friends and tries to get along. On his fist he has a "HATE" tattoo. Robert told me: "Everyone is here for a reason - it is our own fault that we are on the streets."

As I am sitting here and writing this I still wonder about the reasons what privileges me that I can afford a pleasing lifestyle while these boys have to think about where to get the food for the next day.

What is it that drags you down the spiral? Destiny? Bad Luck? What is it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.