Holes In The Ground?

By InkyDink

Keeping The Power

Actually Manhole covers are my favorite thing to photograph. I could start a blip or tumblr with just these photos since I now have 1000s from all over the world.

I always find it strange to think that people walk right over these without looking at them in every city in the world.

Some are ornate. Some are battered or broken. Some are just plain. Many are made in only a few places in the world and yet there is such a variety of them in every city and every country (in most that I've visited).

I count electrical covers, drain covers, etc, along with my manhole cover collection-- anything with an unseen space hidden beneath them.

Maybe it's just the child in me that is fascinated by the idea of the hidden doors that few get to see behind. Maybe it's an obsession. I don't really know why I photograph them.

I have them taken at all times of day on all types of cameras from my precious pro-babies to my iPhone.
And I've been taking them for many years now, watching people just not noticing them.

They are not exactly invisible. Perhaps it's just the "forgotten" (or what we as humans try not to think about) that let's us so easily tread all over them without the slightest blink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.