A Potter's Still Life...

I am a potter but not in the true pottery-making sense. I'm Potteries born and bred, even a neck ender!! Now that might all sounds a bit strange to most folks out there. The links might help anyone born outside of Stoke-on-Trent.

Pottery is in my blood with most of my family working in the industry at one time or another. My maternal grandfather was a ware packer at a local pottery in Longton which is now a museum - Gladstone Pottery Museum. I even volunteered at the museum, as a teenager, and worked in the tea shop!

So here's my little collection of fancy pottery - not much of it local either (shame on me) - except the small pot on the left. The rest is from two far corners of Britain. The jug from Devon and the rest from Ullapool in Scotland - Highland Stoneware.

I recently did a Camera School module on still life, and I've followed none of the advice given to get a good shot. It's Wednesday, my difficult day for taking photos, so it's a quick home brewed shot or nothing.

Now I have to carefully put the pots back......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.