More balls

... from Mother Nature!

Thank you so much for identifying my mystery spheres of yesterblip that I spot each year in the bare trees of Somerset. I find the consensus of 'misteltoe' convincing and am so pleased to know what it is I'm looking at.

So now I'm back from a walk between the Devon hedgerows with a blip of another of Nature's phenomena - more balls, but on a much smaller scale. These remind me of oak apples but they're growing on the bare hedges. Not sure if they're hawthorn or blackthorn, or some other thorn. Of course, the branches all criss-cross - some of those thorns might belong to wild roses ...

Even on foot it was hard to see as it was dusk and the balls were out of reach and silhouetted against the sky. They were too large and round to be rosehips. Any ideas, you clever blipmates?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.