London skyline from the Excel Centre

Went to that annual technology fest for education known as BETT today. (See last year's blip) Again hoping against hope that some companies were thinking more about how their technology would be pivitol in the learning of young people and more specifically in helping teachers to introduce Mr Gove's new curriculum in September.

As usual and as expected, I was disappointed. The show is mainly about box shifters and eager young people extolling the virtues of their particular panacea. But it is also a good place to meet contacts and ctch up with people, which is what I spent most of the time doing. Now I have a few leads to follow up.

The best bit of going to BETT is the journey. From Woolwich ypu take the Docklands Light Railway to West Silvertown and through a housing estate, across a rather fine bridge over the docks to Excel. It was from this bridge that this shot was taken at about 3.30pm in the afternoon on my way home. I like the light, the reflections and the skyline with the cabins of the Emirates Airway - the cable car - in the sky crossing from the south side of the Thames to the north from the 02 Centre.

Behind me is London City airport and it was interesting to watch the planes take off and land - a shot I considered posting, but I liked this one better.

There was also great potential for shots in BETT with some of the stands being of great architectural merit, lavish and luxurious and some of the displays of kit and equipment equally worthy, but for me the great outdoor sweep won the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.