The second half of life..

By twigs

Perched

Oh - how great it was to begin the day with a beautiful shower! Having tended to my own ablutions it then turned into a kind of a van-domestic morning - grocery shopping, dump station visit, diesel top-up, gas top-up, water top-up and a visit to a local garage to get an oil top-up too. (I didn't like the little oil can icon that kept illuminating as I drove last night!)

Finally on the road in very hot weather I headed south into rainie territory. A couple of txts and I had the directions to their place where we shared a good chat over a coffee (very nice coffee it was too......great choice of machine Doug!) before I headed a bit further south. Lovely to see you again rainie - you must come north sometime! During the hour or so I was there the rainie detected a subtle change in the wind from a warm nor-easter to a much cooler southerly, and with the southerly has come wind, rain and cold. It's noticeable now as I sit here in a paddock, perched above Kakanui Beach (fabulous recommendation rainie - just my kind of spot!) just how cool it is - and how windy! The van is feeling like it's in a perpetual state of motion - sleeping tonight will be interesting! What's also interesting is how time progresses down here too - the sun sets much later and there's a gorgeous long twilight. It's still daylight but when I look at the clock I see it's 9.45pm - getting towards bed time! It feels very odd.

Today's image is one taken from south of Oamaru before turning off to Kakanui Beach. I love these old derelict houses and would love to have got closer but the wind, rain and cold saw me scurrying back to the warmth of my van pretty quickly!

Tomorrow . . . . Moeraki then who knows where. I've been thinking about the Otago Peninsula . . . . and the Catlins. That would make it a fairly long haul back to Nelson in far too short a time though and I'm not keen on rushing so I'll have to wait and see how things evolve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.