f/Stop f/Start again

By annewokingham

Film Club Entry - Dungeness Film

Last year, I won 5 trophies at the Reading Film and Video Makers club, where I have been a member now for 2 years. We have some fantastic new talent in the club this year, so I doubt I will ever repeat last year's success. Here is my entry for the 1 minute film competition which took place on Tuesday..........which I did not win. It was however well received, and I hope you might take literally one minute to watch.
It is about Dungeness, and I also wrote the poem.

THIS PLACE

This place
A Headland,
Shingle.
Retreating

Skeletal boats
Rusting tracks
Swaying grasses
Never still.

A windswept place.
A lighthouse,
Where tourists flock,
Yet, once at sea.

A boardwalk
Footsteps. Fishing Rods.
In small numbers now
In search of cod.

Here, power is King
Nuclear and wind
Man's relentless demands fulfilled.

Home. For a few.
For others, escape.
Embracing nature's wrath
Delighting in her challenge.

This place
A treasure, protected for all
This place, ever-changing.
This place? Dungeness

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.