IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Old versus New

One of the kittens chewed through my mobile phone charger. I tried repairing it, but failed. I tried plugging it into my pc via a USB connector, but although I could then transfer data etc, it did not charge (why)? I looked through my box of old adapters and chargers in the tool shed ..... none would fit the Nokia.

The first phone shop took a look at my 20 year old Nokia phone and declared "I don't think we'll have a charger for that product sir". Well they found one, but wanted £13.00 for it. No thanks.

The second shop (with an even younger salesman/boy), said they had one, but were out of stock. he had an idea though .... an upgrade.

He said I could upgrade my old Nokia for a new one ... and get a new battery and charger with it.

"£20.00 for a charger, or £7.99 for a new phone" says he.

He asked me how old my phone was .... roughly 20 years old, said I. This made him laugh.

"Hey Steve .... this customer has not upgraded his phone in 2o years, can you believe it?" (Steve was a couple of years older than the kid, who we'll call "Joe").

Joe showed me a Nokia 106. It was cheap and made of plastic. The functions were a little bit different, but what the heck.

Says Joe "I honestly can't believe you have had the same phone so long .... people just don't do that anymore, they throw them away."

Says I "You look about 20 years old to me .... I can just imagine your parents saying ..... hey, we've had this kid for 20 years now, let's throw him away and get a new one!"

This made him laugh (and shut up).

I bought the phone, but not before I gave him a lot of grief :-)

Young whipper-snapper.

Update: My moany know-it-all wife states that my phone is not 20 years old at all. I checked ... it was first produced in 2007 (but I have been with Nokia for a very long time).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.