Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Starling

Sturnus vulgaris

This male, with a juicy slug in his beak, is waiting for me to disappear before going to his nest. He thinks I don't know where it is. What puzzles me is why he is taking it in there before any chicks are hatched. Is it a gift for his mate? Or is it his turn to sit on the eggs and this is a snack for later?

The starling population here is not large. They are not a problem. They do a good job keeping pest levels down. Furthermore, they provide me with a great deal of amusement and entertainment. And judging by way they chortle and gossip in their various groups as I walk around the garden, I do the same for them.

Starlings are clever mimics. They fill the garden with the songs of birds that rarely or never come here. One, some years back, imitated my phone ring so well I'd go to answer it, while another could make the sound of chinking glasses (which he didn't learn here).

There are five nesting places in and around my home, including a nesting box I built for them. All the sites are jealously maintained year round. Before nesting begins they are thoroughly cleaned out. Like many birds starlings are very hard working parents, especially around fledging time when there are still chicks in the nest and others out in the field.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.