Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

The Hilton Tower, Manchester...

The Hilton Tower, aka The Beetham Tower, is the tallest building in Manchester and one of the tallest buildings in the UK. It divides opinion. I have to saw that I like it. I like its height and its simplicity. I love the sheer glass walls. I like the blade on the top that gives it more height. I like the way you can see if from miles away as you approach the city. I have even spotted, I think, it's red safety lights from a hill in Shropshire. I like that it's like a great exclamation mark at the end of Deansgate, a 21st century vertical answer to the long horizontal Victorian facade of the railway buildings that run from Peter Street almost to Chester Road. But in the city centre it can sometimes hides, lost among the jumble of buildings that temporarily hide it. Manchester likes to contrast the old and the new. Here it rises above some of the older Victorian buildings that line this end of Deansgate...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.