Winter Wonderland

It's been one of the coldest winters I can remember, and the northeastern U.S. is deep in a cold snap that doesn't seem to want to end. It's really been too cold to spend much time outdoors, but I've been trying to get a few minutes here and there.

On this morning, the temperature on our front porch was something like negative zero. Well, maybe there is no such thing, but it was pretty darn cold! The front steps creaked ominously as I walked down them to get to my car.

I was on my way to work, of course, but I thought about how cold it was and I wondered if there might be hoar frost somewhere. When it's bitter cold like this, you see some winter wonders that you never will see any other time. A few times a winter, maybe, but such moments are fleeting.

Just in case, I went a roundabout way to work so I could follow Spring Creek, and of course the mist was rising into the cold, cold air, leaving frost crystals everywhere. I stopped along the creek for pictures at a special bend in the creek that I love.

You might remember it. It's the place where the blue heron led me on a merry chase in late October, but didn't stick around to let me take its picture.The mist was rising over Spring Creek on that morning, too.

On this particular morning, it all seemed extra-special. The sun was just starting to hit this part of Spring Creek, and the icy mist almost seemed to have frozen whitely on the air. Every twig and branch and weed was covered in dainty crystals. There were frost flowers everywhere. It was like a winter garden of delights.

As I rounded the corner of the road, just before taking this shot, I saw a group of mallards floating and cackling on the water. As soon as I drew near, they lifted as one body and took flight into the frosty, misty air. Of course I didn't have my camera out yet at the time, so that image (like the elusive blue heron) will be one for my memory only.

And then I spent a few minutes photographing the mist as it rose, ever changing. And the crystals on a snowy white world of wonder. And the frost flowers. White on white everywhere. A true winter wonderland. And it all sparkled in the morning sun.

The soundtrack to this world of winter wonders: Natalie Merchant, with Wonder

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.