Aliscotia

By Aliscotia

Punctuation!

While working at the shop yesterday I started leafing through a book about punctuation and decided to buy it. I often struggle with the use of a semi-colon and that was my main driver for the purchase, however, I have been flicking through all the sections and learning lots.

Firstly, I know I over-use exclamation marks, but I love them! Sorry.

Secondly, did you know that an abbreviation that is made up from the first and last letters of the word does not need a full stop?

In January Mr Thompson climbed Mt Everest and achieved his dream. I would always have put full stops after Mr and Mt!

Thirdly, I now understand how to use semi-colons; I’m not sure I will use them very often but I now have them in my punctuation arsenal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.